December 20, 2008

5 Best Players in the NBA that Did Not Win the MVP Award

I was reading this article from Sports Illustrated, where it says that Steve Nash is done in Phoenix. Well, done in the sense that he's a shell of his former MVP self. The comments of the people were generally pointed to the opinion that Steve Nash was not an MVP-caliber player ever. He was good for a brief stretch, but if you look at his career, it's hardly one for the NBA greats.

So it got me thinking, "Who were the MVP-caliber players to never have won the MVP award?" Here's my all-time list of players who have played in the last decade that never won the regular season MVP award:

  1. Jason Kidd
  2. LeBron James
  3. Tracy McGrady
  4. Chris Webber*
  5. Gary Payton*

* - Retired



  1. I'd put Payton above McGrady and Webber, in part because his teams had a reputation for winning. He made it to the NBA finals 3 times, with 3 different teams, which further adds to my confusion about Nash being considered MVP-caliber, since Nash has never been to a finals.

    Of course, Payton and Webber were up against guys like Malone, Jordan, Olajuwon, Barkley - some of the all-time greats. It would be hard to justify taking an MVP away from one of those guys. Even Stockton didn't win an MVP.

  2. Well,

    I distinctly remember T-mac demolishing teams in the early 2000's... too bad he's more or less done now.



Blog Widget by LinkWithin